Putting Your Phone Down

Now growing up in the time where everyone has a smartphone it’s a rare sight when I don’t see someone with their phone in their hand. Weather that be them just holding it or mindlessly scrolling through social media. Now I’m not gonna sit here and say I don’t do this as well. After realizing how often other people do it I noticed I do it quite often and now I make an effort to not look at my phone especially when I am out with friends, out with significant others, family, etc.

You need to find those people in life who are worth putting your phone down for, and vise versa. The one thing I have noticed is that as soon as a conversation ends or there is a pause in the conversation I am having with someone they immediately go to grab their phone or have never put it down. I have also noticed this when people seem a bit more nervous around other people, but that doesn’t mean you should just go straight to your phone. It’s kind of off putting when you’re trying to have a conversation with someone and they’re just scrolling through facebook or instagram. And honestly it’s just plain rude. Now I understand if it’s for something important like your parents/significant other has texted you but anything other than that can wait. There’s so much people miss just by always staring at their phone.

I don’t know these are just some thoughts on what I have noticed. I just think it shouldn’t be a “special” thing for people to not look at their phone when they’re with you. It should be automatic.

Let me know your thoughts.

xx

CassandraLeah

Leave a Reply

